February 22, 2022


Basketball History of Rabat (Depiro Basketball Club)

The British Military was instrumental amongst the Maltese to begin the interest of the basketball game. In 1959, a number of Maltese formed part of the Royal engineers team. Rabat Depiro

SPMC, SPIMCOBA, Rabat Catholic Action (RCA) Basketball Club, Rabat Depiro Pfaff Basketball Club and Rabat Depiro are all synonymous names associated with basketball in Rabat Malta. The first two teams were “Kulleġġ Missjunarju ta’ San Pawl”, “Azzjoni Kattolika” and later Depiro Youth Centre.

The first Malta Basketball Association (MBA) league was organised in 1967 with 10 teams playing in one category. The ever first team representing Rabat in the MBA was SPMC (Saint Paul’s Missionary College). Later the team was renamed SPIMCOBA.

In 1972 Rabat competed in U16. Rabat Catholic Action (RCA) participated in the 3rd division (1974) and were promoted to 2nd division immediately from the first year and subsequently to 1st division in 1975. Season 1976/1977 Rabat had their first sponsorship and changed the competition name to Rabat Depiro Pfaff Basketball Club.

Rabat Depiro 1
The RCA Team consisting of: Brother J Bonnet ,Charles  Galea Ciappara, Edward Caruana, Horace Tanti, Joe Caruana,  Karm Borg, Lawrence Zahra, Paul Mangani, Peter Paul Borg  u Tony Vella


 Thanks to www.rabatmalta.com 

Copyright DepiroBC © 2021 All rights reserved. | Newsphere by AF themes.